skip to content

'Teilgabe'. The civic, cooperative and social entrepreneurial creation and shaping of public welfare oriented supply.

The project "'Teilgabe'. The civic, cooperative and social entrepreneurial creation and shaping of public welfare oriented supply" is a cooperation of the Seminar for Cooperative Research with the Institute for Ecological Economic Research (IÖW) and the University of Hamburg (Department of Social Economics).

In almost all areas of society, there are civil society initiatives with new demands of participation and claims to shape society, which they test and implement in practical concepts of economic and social provision. In the current socio-political and scientific debate, such forms of economic activity in civil society are symbolized by three concepts in particular: civic engagement, cooperatives and social entrepreneurship. The practice of engaged citizens, which is aimed at shaping the community, includes both goals oriented toward the common good and economic means.  In contrast to the more passive forms of civic involvement, where participation and involvement in the community is at issue, the creative practices and solidarity-based inputs of a committed civil society make a proactive contribution to shaping the community.

How can the emergence and effects of economic activity in civil society be assessed? To what extent are these possible contributions to the creation and maintenance of the common welfare or common goods? By comparing different strategies and forms of action, the project aims to find out to what extent new forms of economic activity in civil society are not limited to help and specific problem solutions, but rather why and how structure-building approaches to shaping the community are being realized.

To this end, the project pursues two central research lines with guiding questions that build on each other:

  1.  With a focus on the actors and their actions, the key question is: Which civil society actors, forms of organization, forms of action, strategies, etc. lead to the provision of common goods? How can they be understood, distinguished and evaluated?
  2. With regard to the dimension of shaping and creation, the guiding question is: What do the actors provide or produce in the sense of an orientation towards the common welfare: common goods, supply systems, infrastructures? What stands in the way of this creative process, what can promote it? How can the structures that have been created be preserved in the long term?

The project combines theoretical reflection with interdisciplinary empirical social research. Transdisciplinary research approaches and cooperation with partners in the field serve to measure the field of civic economic activity, to answer the key questions and to assess the conditions under which the actors act in order to support the development of structures that promote the common good with a focus on cooperation and networking.

Within the project, the Seminar for Cooperative Research analyzes cooperatives for their ability to bundle resources and competences locally and in the region in order to organize actors with their common goals in cooperative self-help. In particular, the self-image and practical actions in relation to networking and structure-building approaches to community shaping by cooperatives are subjected to an in-depth analysis. A special focus in the context of the provision of health-related and social services is on senior citizens' cooperatives.

The practice-oriented objective of the project in cooperation with the expert for cooperatives Burghard Flieger is to use the research results to help structure-building efforts in a specific health care sector to succeed. By organizing a cross-departmental exchange of experience, the project aims to contribute to the dissemination of good practices in as many sectors as possible.

zum Inhalt springen

Teilgabe. Die bürgerschaftliche, genossenschaftliche und sozialunternehmerische Schaffung und Gestaltung von gemeinwohlorientierter Versorgung.

Das Projekt „Teilgabe: Die bürgerschaftliche, genossenschaftliche und sozialunternehmerische Schaffung und Gestaltung von gemeinwohlorientierter Versorgung“ ist eine Kooperation des Seminars für Genossenschaftswesens mit dem Institut für ökologische Wirtschaftsforschung (IÖW) und der Universität Hamburg (Fachbereich Sozialökonomie). 

In nahezu allen gesellschaftlichen Bereichen finden sich zivilgesellschaftliche Initiativen mit neuen Gestaltungsansprüchen und Teilhabeforderungen, die sie in praktischen Konzepten der wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Versorgung erproben und umsetzen. Solche zivilgesellschaftlichen Wirtschaftsformen versinnbildlichen in der gegenwärtigen gesellschaftspolitischen und wissenschaftlichen Debatte insbesondere drei Konzepte: bürgerschaftliches Engagement, Genossenschaften und Sozialunternehmertum. Die Praxis engagierter Bürger*innen, die auf die Gestaltung des Gemeinwesens gerichtet ist, schließt sowohl gemeinwohlorientierte Ziele als auch wirtschaftliche Mittel ein. In Abgrenzung zu den eher passiven Formen der Bürger*innenbeteiligung, wo es um Teilhabe und Teilnahme am Gemeinwesen geht, leisten die kreativen Praktiken und solidarischen Vorleistungen einer engagierten Zivilgesellschaft einen proaktiven Beitrag zur Gestaltung des Gemeinwesens – zivilgesellschaftliches Wirtschaften praktiziert deshalb „Teilgabe“. 

Wie können nun die Hervorbringungen und Wirkungen zivilgesellschaftlichen Wirtschaftens beurteilt werden? Inwiefern handelt es sich dabei um mögliche Beiträge zur Schaffung und Pflege von Gemeinwohl bzw. Gemeingütern? Durch den Vergleich unterschiedlicher Strategien und Handlungsformen will das Projekt ergründen, inwiefern neue Formen zivilgesellschaftlichen Wirtschaftens sich nicht nur auf Lebenshilfe und spezifische Problemlösungen beschränken, sondern warum und wie strukturbildende Ansätze zur Gestaltung des Gemeinwesens realisiert werden.

Hierzu verfolgt das Projekt zwei zentrale Forschungsstränge mit aufeinander aufbauenden Leitfragen:

  1. Mit Fokus auf die Akteur*innen und ihre Handlungen lautet die Leitfrage: Welche zivilgesellschaftlichen Akteur*innen, Organisationsformen, Handlungsformen, Strategien etc. führen zu einer Bereitstellung von Gemeingütern? Wie können sie verstanden, unterschieden und beurteilt werden?
  2. Mit Blick auf die Gestaltungs- und Schaffensdimension lautet die Leitfrage: Was stellen die Akteur*innen im Sinne einer Gemeinwohlorientierrung bereit oder her: Gemeingüter, Versorgungssysteme, Infrastrukturen? Was steht diesem Schaffensprozess im Wege, was kann ihn befördern? Wie können die gebildeten Strukturen dauerhaft erhalten werden?

Das Projekt verbindet theoretische Reflexion mit interdisziplinärer empirischer Sozialforschung. Transdisziplinäre Forschungsansätze und Kooperationen mit Praxispartner*innen dienen dazu, das Feld des zivilgesellschaftlichen Wirtschaftens zu vermessen, die Leitfragen zu beantworten und die Handlungsbedingungen der Akteur*innen zu beurteilen, um die Entwicklung gemeinwohlfördernder Strukturen mit dem Schwerpunkt Zusammenarbeit und Vernetzung zu unterstützen. 

Das Seminar für Genossenschaftswesen analysiert im Rahmen des Projektes Genossenschaften auf ihre Fähigkeit hin, Ressourcen und Kompetenzen lokal und in der Region zu bündeln, um in genossenschaftlicher Selbsthilfe Akteur*innen mit ihren gemeinsamen Zielen zu organisieren. Dabei werden vor allem das Selbstverständnis und das praktische Handeln im Bezug zur Vernetzung und zu strukturbildenden Ansätzen für die Gestaltung des Gemeinwesens durch Genossenschaften einer tiefgehenden Analyse unterzogen. Ein besonderer Fokus im Rahmen der Versorgung mit gesundheitsbezogenen und sozialen Diensten liegt auf dem Versorgungsbereich Seniorengenossenschaften.

Die praxisorientierte Zielsetzung des Projektes in Kooperation mit dem Genossenschaftsexperten Burghard Flieger besteht darin, die Forschungsergebnisse dafür zu nutzen, Strukturbildungsbemühungen in einem bestimmten Versorgungsbereich zum Erfolg zu verhelfen. Durch die Gestaltung eines bereichsübergreifenden Erfahrungsaustauschs soll schließlich zur Verbreitung guter Praktiken in möglichst vielen Versorgungsbereichen beigetragen werden.